Island

20130812-030515.jpg
Even though your smile
Could only set sail a few ships
It sure did sink mine

And now I’m marooned in this lonely island
With nothing but my shadow to keep me company
I’m learning each day
That the footprints on the sand are mine
That the trees are just trees
And the sky is bluer here than the city’s

Yet at dawn
I still raise my hands and scream
“Who’s there?”
And at nights I still remember your godforsaken face
And wonder what made me to decide
To sail in the first place

Leave a Reply

